Mafikizolo, the masters of Reinvention

todayDecember 17, 2021 15

share close

South African singing group Mafikizolo is one of the few singing groups that have managed to stay together and remain relevant over the years. The group which comprises composer Theo Kgosinkwe and lead singer Nhlanhla Nciza first broke into the music scene in 1997 when they released their famous single “Ndihamba Nawe Kuphela”.

While the group started as a Kwaito group comprising of 3 members the group was reduced to 2 members when the third member Tebogo Madingoane died in 2004. Nine albums later, 14 South Africa Music Awards, and 2 MTV Africa Music awards later goes without saying that the group has cemented their names in the music scene in Africa.

In 2003 they released their Single “Kwela” featuring decorated singer and composer the late Hugh Masekela who passed away in 2018 due to prostate cancer. The song was the title song of their 5th studio album “Kwela”. The collaboration with Masekela endeared the group to the hearts of Jazz fans across South Africa.

In 2006, they released Six Mabone which featured “O Tswa Kae” and “Love Potion”. Six Mabone was one of their latest projects before they took a musical hiatus. In 2014 Mafikizolo made a comeback to the music scene in style when they released “Khona” featuring Black Uhuru.

Their “Reunited” album which was released on their comeback in 2014 was nominated for Best African Act at the MTV Europe Awards. In 2017 the group released the “20”album to celebrate their 20th year anniversary in the music industry. The album went on to receive three nominations and won Duo/Group of the Year and Best Engineered album category in the 24th edition of the South Africa Music Awards.

The group is currently working on its 10th studio album.

About Post Author

Written by: admin

Rate it